Predatory Offenders

Since July 1, 1991, predatory offenders in Minnesota have been required to register their addresses with local law enforcement agencies, who then forward the information to the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, which maintains a database that can be used by the law enforcement agencies. The Minnesota Predatory Offender Registry Program is run by the Minnesota Department of Corrections and Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. The Community Notification Act, which became law effective January 1st, 1997, directs how the public is notified.


The offender is assigned a risk level based on multiple factors. The three levels are:

  • Level 1 (Lower Risk)
  • Level 2 (Moderate Risk)
  • Level 3 (Higher Risk)


The assigned level determines the extent of notification:

Level 1 - Victims of and witnesses to the crime, other law enforcement agencies, and anyone identified by the prosecuting attorney to receive the information.

Level 2 - In addition to the above, notification may be given to schools, daycare centers, and other organizations where individuals who may become victims of the offender are regularly found. Law enforcement may also choose to notify certain individuals that they determine to be at possible risk. The information is not to be redistributed by organizations.

Level 3 - Requires broad public notification, usually done through a public meeting. Law enforcement may also notify individuals and agencies included in Level 1 and Level 2 notifications and may use the media and other distribution methods to get information to the public.

State of Minnesota Predatory Offender Registration FAQ’s

Level 3 Offenders Currently Residing in Anoka